Frosted Chocolate Cupcakes

If you remember my first post, I had mentioned my plans to pair Nutella frosting with the chocolate cupcakes I had planned to bake for an early Christmas gathering with my friends. The results of that combination didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped.

During my previous grocery run, I picked up a box of gluten free Betty Crocker chocolate flavored cake mix for the cupcakes. Normally, I prefer to bake things from scratch, just because I love the feeling of not knowing how my final product will turn out, but it has been a long time since I baked cupcakes, and knowing my friends will be tasting them, I had to take the safe route!

Chocolate cupcakes

Check out the chocolatey goodness!

The cupcakes turned out great, the problem was the frosting.

Using Gimme Some Oven‘s Nutella Cupcake recipe, I opted out of putting Nutella in my cupcakes, and used my jar for the frosting instead. Perhaps my tastes have changed, but before I have even finished adding half of the recommended four cups of powdered sugar, I already found the frosting to be way too sweet! Even a Nutella addict like myself couldn’t eat more than one bite of this stuff. Perhaps I should have made Nutella cupcakes instead, or nutella cookies? Those turned out pretty well the last time I made them. If anyone has tried making Nutella frosting, please let me know if I’m doing something wrong!

Happy Baking!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

